FAQ


Frequently Asked Questions and Answers about our Online Backup and Recovery Service, powered by Keepit, an industry leader in data storage and recovery services.



..........................................................................................................................

What happens if my backup or restore is interrupted?

If the backup or restore is interrupted (e.g. because you lose connection or if you turn off your computer while the process is running) the process will simply be resumed at the next given opportunity.

If the program loses connecting while doing a backup it will try to reconnect every 30 seconds.

Notice that if more than 48 hours passes before the process is resumed it will be regarded as cancelled; thus it will need to be restarted manually

..........................................................................................................................

What happens if the user exceeds his quota?

If the user exceeds the maximum backup storage quota,  his account functions will be locked out, preventing the user from both creating new backups and restoring existing backups.

The user must then decide to upgrade his account or request deletion of the existing backups and start over with a smaller backup set.

..........................................................................................................................

What sort of encryption is used by the program?

The backup program uses two different kinds of encryptions during the backup process.

When the backup process is initiated the program will compress and encrypt the data locally, using a 256 bit AES encryption.

Next step is transferring the data to the backup server, which is done on a 128 bit AES encrypted connection. This means that the data double encrypted during the transferring process.

.......................................................................................................................

What is an encryption key?

The encryption key is a unique key, created the first time you log in . The key (a long string of numbers and letters) is used for encrypting your files before they are shipped to the backup server. Having this key ensures that the user is the only one who can decrypt and view the content of the user’s backup.

We strongly recommend that you save it either electronically to an external drive (outside your computer) or print it out and save it somewhere because you will need that key if you ever have a computer failure and want to restore your files to a new computer.

..........................................................................................................................

How does the backup work?

When creating a backup of your files the program observes changes to your files and folders. This means that if you create a backup of a 4GB sized folder, and then decide to rename this folder, the program will perceive the original 4GB data as having been deleted and new 4GB data added to your backup set.

After uploading the new backup your quota usage would then have a total of 8GB.

If you add another 2GB to your 4GB folder, increasing the size to 6GB, the quota is increased by 2GB –giving a total of 10GB.

This is called differential backup. Currently it is not possible to delete backup set from the software, but the oldest backup sets should automatically be deleted after 30 days, as the program only saves a 30 day backup history of your files.

Following the example above your 10GB quota would stay like that for 30 days, after which the initial 4GB would be deleted, and your quota would match the size of your current backup set.

..........................................................................................................................

What if I forget my password?

Your Keepit password is the same as the password you use to access your Internet services. If you lost it, you should contact your provider who can either retrieve it for you or re-set it.

..........................................................................................................................

How do I upgrade from a trial?

If you wish to upgrade to a paid account, simply contact your provider and tell them what size backup package you wish to purchase.  Backup storage packages come in the following sizes:  5GB, 25GB, 50GB, 100GB, 250GB.

..........................................................................................................................

How do I disable a trial?

Your trial will automatically expire after 30 days.  If you wish to disable the trial before the 30 days and discontinue the auto-generated emails, contact your service provider who will disable it for you.